SCAC - Standard Carrier Alpha Code

The Standard Carrier Alpha Code (SCAC) is a unique four-letter code used to identify transportation companies by the National Motor Freight Traffic Association (NMFTA). SCAC's are required when doing business with all U.S. Government agencies and with many commercial shippers including those in the automotive, petroleum, forest products, and chemical industries. HazMat, intermodal container, rail yard, and import/ export loads usually require that you have a SCAC code. You will need a SCAC to register with e-modal to enter many of the seaports, most notably Baltimore. Brokers and shippers may require a SCAC code before doing business with them.

State, Other Permits and Registrations

SCAC (Standard Carrier Alpha Code)

The SCAC is a yearly registration and renewals are required. The registration year runs from July 1st through June 30th of the following year.

Renewal notices will be sent each year in May.

SCAC Registration - $120.00


If we receive your application by 3:00 PM EST, Mon-Fri, we can usually have your SCAC code the same day, most times within 2 hours. Applications received after 3:00 pm are immediately submitted and may still receive their SCAC code the same day. Delays are possible and acquisition times are not guaranteed. is a private 3rd party company, we are not the USDOT or affiliated with any government agency.


7198 E Fouch Rd.
Traverse City, MI   49684

Call: (231) 947-5573 Fax: (231) 947-5662